History, Language & Culture Guyana

历史语言和文化 Guyana

The land of Guyana was originally settled by the Arawak and Carib tribes. They named it Guiana, which stands for “L and of many waters” The first European settlers were the Dutch, who came in the late 1500s. However, the British took over many years later in 1796. In 1966 Guyana gained independence from Britain and became a republic in 1970. They have considered the 1992 elections their first fair and free elections since they gained their independence. They are headed by a President together with the Prime Minister and Cabinet of Ministers. English is the official language of Guyana, which is the only South American country with English as the official language. Guyanese Creole (an English-based creole with African, Indian, and Amerindian syntax) is also widely spoken in Guyana.

汇率   to

  1 =